Atwood House Museum
…Cape Cod’s captivating history, art
and culture at the Chatham Historical
Society’s Atwood House Museum.
We are a small museum with a lot of punch offering something for all ages!
Built by Chatham Sea Captain Joseph
Atwood circa 1752, the “old house” was occupied by his descendants for five generations, until it was purchased by The Chatham Historical Society, in 1926.
Some of the Museum’s highlights include:
* Docent tours of various galleries.
* A gallery dedicated to the history and various techniques of Chatham’s commercial fishing industry.
* The Atkins-Kent and The Spencer Y. Grey Galleries, featuring items brought back by 19th century sea captains.
* The Joseph A. Nickerson, Jr. Gallery
which offers special rotating exhibits.
* The Joseph C. Lincoln Gallery featuring first editions, illustrations, and manuscripts related to Cape Cod’s most prolific and successful writer of his time.
* Historic Tools and Industry Room.
* Mural Barn, housing the nationally renowned paintings of local residents, by artist Alice Stalknecht.
*Durand Gallery featuring craved birds by A.E. Crowell, Sandwich Glass and a
collection of seashells from around the
* State-of-the-art Archival Center.
Today, the greatly expanded and updated Atwood House Museum is a vibrant institution, offering special events all year, including a well attended monthly lecture series.
…Our 18th century Herb Garden, planted and maintained by The Chatham Garden Club.
* Meneely Bell Chimes
* Nickerson Camp. an authentic North
Beach Camp built in 1947.
* Working lantern from one of the
historic Chatham Twin Lights.
…Shopping at our popular Atwood House
Museum Shop. Shop items include society publications, books for children and adults, toys, jewelry, reproductions from our collections, nautical items, and much more. The shop is open to museum guests, members,and the general public.
MUSEUM HOURS VARY
Please check our website,
for an updated schedule.
The Chatham Historical Society was founded in 1923 to preserve the history of Chatham, along with the records, art, and artifacts that tell the story of this region from its earliest times to the present. The Society purchased the
1752 Atwood House in 1926, and, a year later, opened it as a museum.